2024 Kidney Summit

Has it been two years since I posted on my blog? Not sure who’s even reading this anymore but some are asking about my kidney life so I thought I’d share my Linkedin post today…

Felt empowered today joining the force of passionate advocates all armed with stories that take us to the steps of Captiol Hill and into the offices of our lawmakers. The last two days here in DC for the NKF Kidney Patient Summit, I heard even more stories from my own team of CA advocates…
A teammate who donated a kidney years ago was denied life insurance despite the fact that living donors are among the healthiest among us. That’s why we push for Congress to pass the Living Donor Protection Act.
Another teammate had to wait many agonizing days while a family member was on life support after a medical event; the transplant system almost couldn’t connect her donation with a recipient. Add that to the shocking fact that thousands of kidneys are discarded each year. That’s why we urge for funding to transform and modernize the transplant system. Patients deserve a high-performing transplant system.
A dialysis nurse on our team saw why many patients could benefit from home dialysis. So we solicit support for the home dialysis bill which allows more to dialyze at home when they are too far from a center, or can’t find childcare or access transportation or take time off to go to a center.
For me, I found out I had kidney disease after being denied life insurance. And when I listed some of the ways a patient could slow down possibly stop the progession of kidney disease, my doctor said to me “Yes, but for you it’s too late”. And that fuels my fight to urge Congress to develop a federal screening recommendation, so many who don’t know they have kidney disease will be diagnosed in time to do something about it….
After the last of our five meetings my teammate Maria could barely take another step. I dosed off on the Uber ride back to our hotel. Tired feet but energized souls. Rest up kidney warriors. We’ll make our way to back home tomorrow to continue our journey. Our lawmakers have offices there too. 😊 #KidneySummit

3 thoughts on “2024 Kidney Summit

  1. Thank you, Doris! You are such an amazing advocate; our community is so fortunate to have such committed warrior working on their behalf. You are a ROCK STAR!

    Like

Leave a comment