Traveling with Transplant (part 3)

You thought I was done with the Paris posts didn’t you?  Actually so did I until I thought I would share one more episode with you.


In case you’re wondering after reading the last two posts if I got sick at all in Paris, I’m happy to report that I stayed healthy and strong the entire trip and was able to savor every bit of the city.  We had a fabulous time…

… well, except for one moment on Tuesday afternoon around 5:30pm.  We had just reached Sacré-Cœur Basilica (church) when one of the boys began experiencing severe abdominal pain.  An hour later we were at Emergency.

emergency
Waiting for an update at Hôpital européen Georges-Pompidou
Hôpital Européen Georges-Pompidou
Hmmm, we’re all on our screens.  Does it count if I’m reading a book on my Kindle app?

After many hours, many tests, and some very effective medicine, my son felt better.  The doctor discharged him at 2:30am, and we Uber’d back to our apartment.  The next morning, I walked down to the corner pharmacie and got enough medicine for the rest of our stay.

Oh the irony.

pharmacie
The pharmacist here was very kind and patient with me.

So here’s one last travel tip:

  • Have Google Translate app ready.   Hand gestures can only get you so far.

google_translate

 

🇫🇷

Thanks for reading my Paris posts.   Any suggestions for our next vacation destination?


 

1486746870797

A huge shout-out to Insidr Paris, our phone rental service in Paris.   Ben, Nina, Catherine and everyone there were so helpful and caring, especially when we needed to get to a hospital.   Besides, they have a great phone (which has a built-in hotspot so we always had wifi!)

3 thoughts on “Traveling with Transplant (part 3)

  1. Your comments are happy and enlightening. Thanks for all the travel tips. “Well” folks can benefit from them. Phone rental/wifi service…you must have done quite a bit of research before going. Again, thanks for sharing and your son felt better in no time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment