Post Transplant Update (7 weeks)

Today I went in for another post transplant appointment.  I am doing so well I won’t have to see Elizabeth, my nurse practitioner, for another 3 weeks.  I am down to one lab draw a week, as opposed to two, and some of my medications have been tapered or stopped altogether.

I feel 100% normal again, though I am not really fully there.  I am still not allowed to lift anything over 10 pounds nor do sit-ups nor go running.   My wounds have not healed completely, so I cannot take baths or go swimming.  (There are scars from both the transplant as well as the removal of the dialysis catheter.  Surgeons put in the new kidney and removed the catheter during the same surgery.)

I have been cleared to drive again, and the fake hot flashes have subsided.  The hand tremors are mostly gone too, and I no longer need to wear an abdominal binder.  For a few weeks the band around my waist kept my weak and sensitive abs comfortable and supported.  But my body has gotten stronger so I have packed the binder away.

Other than driving my boys to and from their various camps, I haven’t been out too much.  And the happy introvert that I am, I love being at home. My older son just got his driver’s license last week, however, (watch out, Oakland!) so I’m now only chauffeuring one teenager about town.

Tay drivers license

There are a few events that have gotten me out of the house too:  Kyle’s 8th grade promotion ceremony, a concert at Concord Pavilion, and a food packing event to feed the hungry that my friend Alyssa hosted.

kyle ebia graduation
Kyle’s 8th grade promotion ceremony

This Sunday I plan to go to church, first time since transplant.  My immune system is still weak but my anti-bacterial gel will be close at hand.  I miss seeing everyone! 😀

 

11 thoughts on “Post Transplant Update (7 weeks)

  1. I found your blog while searching for a “Hello Kidney” image someone sent me :-). It’s great to read your story. I had a live donor transplant in Seattle on June 13 (my dear cousin was the donor) so I am at 3.5 weeks out. Both of us are doing really well. Pre-transplant, I had to have a nephrectomy first (on Apr 19) due to polycystic kidney disease so I had a bit of a double-header surgery-wise. If you are interested, I wound up putting my story on Instagram – not the best for how much I wound up writing but that is where friends and family have been following along. https://www.instagram.com/transplantjourney/ All the best to you and your family! – Heidi A.

    Like

  2. Wow, Doris, that is remarkable! I am so happy for you! Praise God!

    Look forward to seeing you at church Sunday! I’ll try to refrain from giving you a big hug for now. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow,wow, wow! Such great news. So excited to hear you are feeling 100% normal. Thank you Jesus! Excited to see you Sunday. Love, Donna

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hello Doris. Happy happy 4th of July weekend!! I was just thinking of you last night, and planned to send you a message to see how you were feeling. I am so thankful to the Lord for the work He’s doing in your life. Look forward to more progress! Xoxox. Anita

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment