My 3-month Kidney-versary

A photo from three months ago on Transplant Day: Superman greets me coming out of my surgery as he prepares for his.

My transplant date was May 12th.

Does that seem only three months ago?  Or should I say already three months?  Yesterday was my 3-month “kidney-versary.”  It marks the end of that crucial period after transplant when kidney rejection is most likely to occur, and when I am most vulnerable to illness.   My heavy dose of immunosuppressant drugs has been tapered.  Mr. Bean, my new baby kidney, has continued to function beautifully, with fantastic weekly lab numbers.  But I haven’t escaped completely unscathed.  I caught a virus that’s left me with a nasty cough, sore throat and other symptoms about a month ago with no sign of getting better.  My immune system, still compromised, is struggling to fight it all.  It’s been frustrating but eventually I will get well, and I have a whole staff monitoring me carefully.  

My pre-surgery chronic neck pain (due more likely to aging than bad kidneys) has returned.  It may be that it never went away; I was so heavily medicated that my body was in happy denial.  Bottom line: I have to continue to take care of myself.   My doctor sent me to a neck care class, and I’m exercising everyday.  The human body is amazing and fragile at the same time.  I’m increasing my daily steps (walking) and eating more healthily.  (If you would like to “walk” with me virtually, you can find me through Fitbit or the Human app on iPhone.  Please no marathon runners.  I can’t keep up with you.  My goal is a simple 6,000 steps a day for now, adding weights, more steps and more aerobic activity later.  We can keep each other accountable! 😊)

Oddly about a few weeks ago,  I also started to feel some of the emotional side effects of prednisone.   Sometimes in the middle of the night I would wake, sobbing with sadness;  the little everyday worries in my life seemed suddenly magnified.  Why am I so stressed when they never weighed on me so heavily before?   I’d realize it had to be that miracle drug with the wacky side effects.  Prednisone often causes anxiety and moodiness.  When I shared my experience with a friend, she told me that when she was given prednisone years ago after a surgery,  she had very stressful, frightful dreams at night.  She dreaded going to sleep because of those vivid images.  She’s off the drug now, but I’m likely to be on prednisone for the rest of my life.  The dosage is low enough that it shouldn’t be a problem, but if you ever find me feeling down, remind me it could be my meds talking.   

Interesting how the body chemistry affects our emotions.

Now that my 3-month post transplant period is up, come Monday, I will attend my “transition” appointment where UCSF transfers my care back to Kaiser, my primary health providers.  Going forward I will see a Kaiser nephrologist regularly and continue to submit blood samples (less frequently over time).  UCSF will still bring me in from time to time to monitor my kidney and health.  At six months after transplant, UCSF will perform a biopsy of Mr. Bean.  That procedure will show if there is any undetected rejection of the kidney that didn’t show up on labs.  We’ll address that when we get there.  

Thanks to so many of you who continue to support me and check in on me.  I’m pretty well and back to resuming my normal daily activities.   

8 thoughts on “My 3-month Kidney-versary

  1. Hi Doris! Thanks for the update. So glad to hear Mr Bean is doing OK and you are through 3 month mark! Sorry about those side effects. :(. I hope they go away eventually! So true how the body is so amazing yet it’s all such a delicate balance. Praying you stay well /heal from this virus and start feeling better soon! Charmaine

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your 3-month milestone. I realize we don’t know each other, but as a fellow live donor recipient I’ve wondered how things were going for you. I hope you recover soon from the virus. I just tapered to 5mg of prednisone on-going…oddly the mood thing seemed to affect me more with the “giggles” – which I had a tendency towards before anyway, where I just can’t seem to stop laughing. This happened at a Clinic appointment – my husband is kind of a funny guy and he really got me going – I wasn’t sure whether they were going to get the men in white coats for me :-). But then, I suspect they’ve pretty well seen it all there.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, certainly laughing *is* good, but I can have trouble regaining my composure. It can be a little embarrassing depending on the context–like trying to have a meaningful clinic appointment. I found your blog after somebody sent me a “Hello Kidney” image–it’s like Hello Kitty but with a kidney. I did a web search to find a version of the image to send to my donor (my cousin). And when you search on “Hello Kidney” your site comes up as a top result. And then a saw that you were about 5 weeks ahead of me transplant-wise.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Doris, 3 month? Wow! You have been such a trooper and a never give upper and a real encouragement to so many going through something tough. I am happy for your progress and will pray for you getting rid of that nasty bug. Do miss you all! Your faces. Your smiles. Your hugs. But we are together in Christ. 💗Bonnie

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, Doris, if I somehow brought that virus into your house, I’m so sorry, and I feel terribly responsible. Though I was not sick and my family was not sick, and I don’t know of any sick people I saw before I saw you, I still feel it might have been my fault because I came from outside of your little protected world that you needed at that time. I’m very sorry.
    I have also started exercising again but I don’t have (and don’t want) a fitbit. I do daily check-ins with an online buddy. 🙂
    I’m glad to hear that other than the virus and neck pain, things are moving along fairly smoothly.
    My father-in-law just found out that he has kidney failure, and he is starting the overnight dialysis program shortly.

    Sending much love and many blessings,Karen
    Date: Sat, 13 Aug 2016 14:41:35 +0000
    To: blooms21@hotmail.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Karen I highly doubt it was you but thanks for the thought. I’ve been around lots of people in the last month and a half. I went back to church on Sundays and hugging lots of people. It also could’ve been my son who was coughing weeks ago though for just one day…. Sorry to hear about your father-in-law. Is he starting hemo or peritoneal dialysis? Keep me posted, and happy to help in any way. Lots of love to you! Doris

      Like

Leave a comment