Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas to all!  Hope your day is fun-filled and food-filled with family and friends.  Marty’s extended family feasted on prime rib on the 23rd; his immediate family dined on Italian last night; and my family stuffed ourselves with Chinese today.  You can always count on the Chinese restaurants to be crowded on Christmas Day.  By the way, I allow myself red meat maybe every six months. Cousin Skip’s prime rib was worth the wait. Mmmmm.

I’m glad I’m able to enjoy the holidays.  My doctor told me at my appointment last week that I am “rapidly approaching dialysis.”   I’m on alert for any hint of symptoms that will start me on this procedure.  Fortunately a few minor headaches here and there don’t seem to be anything more than that.  I am at times, though, strangely hungry and yet nothing seems to satisfy me.  No, I am not pregnant.  In fact I will be getting a new kidney baby.

Last week the board also approved my transplant surgery.  They just need one more test from me, an echocardiogram which is scheduled for next Tuesday.  I also have a consult appointment with the dialysis surgeon in January so that he’s familiar with me in case we need to do “urgent start” on dialysis.  Normally someone in my stage would already have the catheter put in to prep for dialysis.  But since I have an imminent transplant everyone is hoping I could avoid dialysis altogether.

Have a great New Year everyone.  Stay healthy!

Doris

Leave a comment