Update from Kaiser San Leandro

waiting for ambulance
Updating my blog while waiting for the ambulance transport

 

The spot on the native right kidney turned out not to be a tumor or anything to worry about.  But the CT scan last night also shows a wedge shaped spot in the transplanted kidney.  They’re not sure what it is, possibly an “infarction.”  The cultures from the urine and blood tests from a few days ago also don’t show anything so far so my doctor has no diagnosis and doesn’t know what kind of infection it was that caused my high fever.  So out of extreme caution, after talking to my UCSF transplant doctors, my doctor here at Kaiser is transferring me to UCSF!

What? Why? But I feel fine now!

Kaiser doesn’t have a transplant unit so she felt better having me monitored there.  She emphasized that this was really overkill, that I should not worry, that I was very likely fine since I looked and felt mostly well but something had caused the high fever.  And since we just don’t know what, she felt better sending me to UCSF.  It may very well be that they end up sending me home after a day or so.

Not at all what I expected but I’m glad they are watching me carefully.  It’s now 6pm on Wednesday, and I’m sitting here in my Kaiser room waiting for the transport unit to come.  I have to be transferred by ambulance over to UCSF.  Kind of odd since I feel well enough to just run down to the car and drive myself there, wondering the whole time why I am going there.  But yes, I’m very curious too and really hoping we will solve this mystery.

Will keep you posted.

 

17 thoughts on “Update from Kaiser San Leandro

  1. Hi Doris, this is Nikki, Naomi’s friend. My husband Dan is 6 months behind you. At our last check up at Kaiser SF a few weeks ago, we were talking with our NP – Darlene about Dan’s up coming biopsy. I told her about seeing a video of the biopsy on your blog! She says , ‘ oh she was just here!’ We had just missed you! Please know I have been praying for you and am sorry you are having this ” episode” , for loss of a better discription. Dan had so many episodes of one kind or another pre- transplant. It’s always nerve racking but, I’m sure this is a different kind of tough, not what we want. It’s amazing how there are always more ways of learning to put ‘it’, Before the Lord,
    And walk a little closer. How would we do this without Him?!
    I’m glad you are at UCSF! As a spouce of a kidney recepiant there is comfort there!
    Your song, voice and words have been an encouragement to me!
    Blessings to you,
    Nikki Wilkins

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Nikki! Good to share common experiences with others even though this may not necessarily be a fun journey. But it all makes us better people too and connects us with a great community with folks like you. Hope Dan is doing well and that he will not have any major issues. This one of mine turned out not to be that big a deal. If anything it just confirms the great care that UCSF has over us.

      Like

  2. Wished I’d known you were there. My office is on the 3rd floor ad I would have stopped by to see you. You’re in my prayers. Take good care. Anita

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the update. Glad you’re ok. I have a wedge-shaped scar on my right kidney from a painful infraction/embolism in 2006. Really hurt (maybe infarctions in transplanted kidneys don’t hurt?) and never happened again. It could be a random one-time thing. May God continue to bless you and take care of you. If you have a question, just let me know and give me some time to do some nephrology homework for you. Call anytime. Andy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Andy! I think this is just a UTI after all, but so great to be here at UCSF who was able to rule out a number of things and adjust my medication in the meantime. Good to know I can call on you if I ever need to. Would be curious to hear about your kidney issue.

      Like

  4. Hi Doris, You and I both know that UCSF has the finest kidney medical team in the US, and you will be in great hands there. Stay positive and know that my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy to know your fever has subsided, but sorry to read about the wedgie-thingy on your transplanted kidney. Trusting that it amounts to nothing concerning. Remembering you in pryr – try and have a restful night at UCSF. Please keep us posted.

    Daryl
    CIBC

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment