Will You Be My Fitbit Friend?

6e464ee60c74a39d276fb8dbab07f9d0I always think my bp monitor is lying to me.  Since the Queen Bean took over kidney function, I now have – for the first time in over a decade – normal blood pressure without the aid of any pills.  So when I look at that screen I think my monitor is calibrating it wrong.  I brought it with me to my kidney appointment to confirm it wasn’t lying.

My whole body took a hit when the kidneys became diseased.  Besides my heart, my bones weakened too.  My latest DEXA scan shows the beginnings of osteoporosis.  In fact ten years ago I was already diagnosed with osteopenia, the precursor to osteoporosis.  Being a petite, Asian female – I was told – started me off with a lower baseline anyway, so “not to worry; the trajectory is normal.”  Since my kidney diagnosis, we now know bad kidneys were the cause.

So I’m starting off 2017 with a renewed dedication to get strong.  80% of success is showing up, and I’m happy to say I’ve been checking in to my gym 4 days a week.  I always do the weights, and my goal now is to increase the cardio.  I’ll get there.  My Fitbit motivates me towvards my 10,000 steps a day.  Yesterday I reached over 15,000 steps, and my Fitbit app broke out into a happy celebration, confetti raining down on my stats.fitbit

If you have a Fitbit, will you be my Fitbit Friend?  Find me at dorisjlew@gmail.com, and we can cheer/ taunt each other as we exercise our way toward our respective goals. (I’m talkin’ to you, Anita F.!  I know your treadmill ate your iPhone, but you’ve got a new one by now.  Sync it up, and see you on the Fitbit Friends board!)

If you’re looking to get a Fitbit, try Costco or Groupon.  And if you don’t already know about camelcamelcamel.com you should get on that; it’s a price tracking tool for all things Amazon.

Let’s get fit together.  Poor health is too costly.

 

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-12-53-53-am
CamelCamelCamel.com tracks and notifies me when my favorite items drop to my desired price

4 thoughts on “Will You Be My Fitbit Friend?

  1. Hellllllo my friend…. I just saw this. My new email is anitayfrazier@gmail.com It has less emails. Although I think my Fitbit is hooked up to this one. I will check! I’ve been wearing it on and off. I will get started again!!! Forgive me! Big Hugs!! How are you doing this Spring? I started a new job, so I’ve been super busy – day 3!

    ILLUMINATE         Let your light so shine before men…             Matthew 5:16

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t have a Fitbit, but I’ve been walking and working out a little more than usual. Thanks for the continuous updates. Glad your doing better. Lastly, thanks for the camel 411. I enjoy the perks that come with being a savvy shopper!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment