Good News, Bad News

ucsf

Are you ready for some good news to start the new year? After many months, and many screenings, a potential donor has finally been medically cleared!  Hooray!  I’ll call him Superman because he must be super healthy to make it through the very exhaustive screening process, and he may be the one to ultimately save the girl on the tracks from the oncoming train.  He went in for a full day of final tests a few weeks ago, and his case was presented to the board this past Monday.  And he was approved!

But of course my kidney journey has seen no shortage of surprises. On the same day Superman completed all his final tests, UCSF also announced it was suspending its living kidney donor program!  He wouldn’t be able to donate to me at UCSF even when he’s finally approved – not until the suspension is lifted!  A few weeks earlier a kidney donor had died the day after transplant surgery.  The cause is unknown, and while an investigation takes place, UCSF has voluntarily suspended its living kidney donor program. This means we cannot proceed with any living donor surgery right now even if he is approved.  I can still receive a deceased donor kidney if one happens to come in, but I’m far down on the wait list they won’t happen.

Superman Donor isn’t discouraged, however, and is still eager and willing to proceed.  UCSF has never had a donor death, and he understands the risks.  (The risk of a kidney donor death following surgery is about three deaths in every 10,000 cases.)  We just now have to either wait for the suspension to be lifted, or find a new transplant center.  So after a flurry of phone calls to UCSF, UC Davis, Kaiser, and Stanford, we are transferring all our care to UC Davis (whose transplant center is in Sacramento.)  It’s farther to travel (for surgery as well as all those follow up appointments ), and not my preference, but it’s a reputable center with a great staff.  If the suspension lifts before any surgery, I can always switch back to UCSF.

So now what? In the next few days, I will get all my paperwork in order for Kaiser my insurance to designate UC Davis as my new center and get in a few tests that are now outdated (chest X-ray, EKG, etc.). My donor has to visit Sacramento in person to meet with the staff as part of the evaluation process.  Most of his tests, however, should be able to transfer over from UCSF.  Recently I had already registered at Davis as a transplant candidate so most of my work is done.

Then we are almost there except for one last step (hopefully).  Superman and I are not blood compatible, which means my body cannot physically accept his kidney.  We would be entered into the database for the kidney exchange program.  As far as blood type, I’m A, he’s B.  So we would have to be matched with another donor-recipient pair out there, an A donor B recipient combination.  It’s a kidney swap, and he’s donating on my behalf.

So then we just wait.  I hope it won’t take long, and there won’t be any more glitches.  But you never know.  God has a way of waiting for me at the finish line only to surprise me with a detour.

All this makes me feel nervous and excited for my donor and for me.  Thank you for your prayers for us.

14 thoughts on “Good News, Bad News

  1. Happy New Year Auntie Doris! 2016 (If you’re a SF Giants Baseball fan, you know that it’s a lucky year)

    Congratulations on the find of a donor.That IS some good news. It’s too bad that UCSF stopped with their Living Kidney Donor program though. Don’t worry, you’ll find some better care elsewhere (Davis? 🙂 ). I think that God might be trying to teach you patience also. Even though it may seem that your patience has been tested for too long of a time, patience can be tested for as long as He wants. I think that God knows that you have been especially patient, and you will be healed soon.

    Superman is a perfect name for your donor. You don’t exactly know who he is, but he is a hero. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vjW8wmF5VWc (Skip to the 2 minute mark by pressing the number 2 on your laptop or computer and watch the dance that fits your donor)

    I was looking at those pictures you posted, and I am extremely proud of you for being so strong and brave. I personally don’t mind needles, although I don’t like them. Yet you are consistently strong everyday and manage to even inject yourself! That takes courage and a calm mind. Well done and keep it up!

    At a Mass I went to recently with my class at school, the priest talked about angels. He talked about all of the famous angels and their specific job. As an engaging priest who likes to talk to his audience, he was calling on a few people to answer this question: If I pinched you, would you scream? He called on me first, and I answered no. He then said that if I wouldn’t scream, than I was an angel. It’s probably just a silly question, but you never know if that test works. Try it yourself. Maybe have someone pinch you randomly at a time of the day. You can be your own guardian angel. That would be cool. 🙂

    Stay brave and enjoy this seemingly lucky year!
    You’ll always be in our prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome!!!! Yeah! Praise God! I’ll keep praying for everything to go perfectly in this process. Thanks for the good news.

    I just started the work up to donate mine to Annelise when she’s about 22 pounds (currently 14.7 lbs.). It helps me to keep that goal in mind especially when I have the NG tube blues 🙂

    Vanessa

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Doris! What a wonderful way to begin the New Year! So happy you have a donor and I will be praying for the kidney swap to come very soon!
    You have trusted the Lord every step of the way and I know you will continue as this expected miracle comes to fruition.

    Blessings and Prayers,
    Bonnie

    Like

  4. Will continue to pray for you. Good news indeed! May our God continue to give you His peace and strength during your journey to a new kidney. Keep posting… Happy 2016 to you and the boys!

    Like

  5. We are so excited and happy for you, and so very proud of your Superman. We love you both very much, and you are in our thoughts as you both prepare for the next steps. Xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment