New Friends and Old

Augie interviews me at New Life Christian Fellowship
Augie interviews me at New Life Christian Fellowship

Yesterday I visited my friend Augie’s church, New Life Christian Fellowship, a wonderful intimate church family in Castro Valley. Instead of a regular sermon, Augie interviewed me about my kidney story. We talked about the importance of reaching out to those around us when we are in need. I also shared about how God has been showing up in my life the past year, encouraging and loving me and growing me in my faith. It was a wonderful morning with two highlights for me. The first was the individuals who approached me afterwards and shared about the encouragement they found in hearing they were not alone in their own struggles. I think there is something healing about putting our stories out there, especially with those who are traveling a similar journey. I look forward to connecting with these new friends more.

The second joy for me was having my son Tay sing with Marty and me as we led the music. He had decided three days ago as we were rehearsing for today that he would sing with us because “it was a small church, and nobody knows us.” And then this morning as we were warming up, Kyle spontaneously decides to join us on drums!  So for the first set, it was the Lew Family worship! I loved having my boys up there, but please don’t approach them to say you heard they helped lead worship, and how wonderful that must’ve been.  They really don’t want the attention.  But me, I can’t help but share that with you all! 🙂


The past two months I have actually visited a few churches to share my kidney need and story.  As I continue to search for a donor, I find that I have a story, a testimony, to share of how God has met me in unexpected ways as my kidney life keeps taking unexpected turns.

CLC_MD
Sharing our story and music at Christian Layman Church

In late August Marty and I visited The Salvation Army SOMA Corps in San Francisco, where I attended many years ago when I lived in the City. I miss these guys so much!

Then last month, Marty brought a team of musicians to lead worship at Christian Layman Church in Oakland where my testimony was part of Pastor Andrew’s message “Weak is the New Strong.” We love our family here too, and we are still so connected to people here so it was a heartfelt reunion to see them.


I’m still feeling good, though I have “fatigue attacks” where I suddenly feel very sleepy. Some mornings after I drop off Tay at school (a half hour away), I’m exhausted, and I have to park and nap for an hour before driving back home. I’m thankful for a husband who’s working hard every day so I can be home and not have to rush off to a job.


Last month, I also went to my high school reunion. In the 30 years since I graduated from high school, it was my first reunion, and I almost did not make it to this one.  Thanks to Lee our class president for the nudge I needed.  She’s been so supportive in my kidney struggle.  Honestly in all those years I always felt a little insecure showing up without an “amazing career” or stories of world travel.  But I was in a season of letting go of the unimportant stuff and just enjoying friendships new and old. So I went and surprised myself at how much I enjoyed reconnecting with people I had not seen in decades!  Every time a tray of appetizers came by I shooed them away because I was too busy chatting.  Here I am with friends I attended school with at Marina Middle and Lowell High. woo hoo!  It was a reunion within a reunion!  I left at the end of the evening a giddy school girl – happy though hungry because I forgot to eat all night.

12032725_1062990300401306_7975688613151187491_o

Thanks for your continued support.  Please keep spreading the word.  If you know someone who would like to get tested to be a donor you can get more info here.

4 thoughts on “New Friends and Old

  1. Doris, I so look forward to reading your posts – it helps me to still feel connected to the SF Bay area that I very much miss. I understand feeling fatigued while on dialysis, and I must tell you how lovely you look in all of the recent photos. God must be shining through you. I have a suggestion for you: Have you looked into the organization “Gift of Life Foundation?” If you feel up to it, it might be a way to volunteer and network. Always thinking of you, Cindy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Doris,
    Everything you shared sounds so much “Of God”. Your attitude, sharing your story, your bravery, your witness not only of you life story but of Christ through words, music and love of family!
    God is so good! To think that Tay made that decision by himself to join in your family music. As a mother I know how deeply that was felt by you.
    My prayers continue for a miracle kidney for you. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for your warm-hearted reply to my last comment, Auntie Doris. I liked this post too, because I can relate to meeting up with friends that I have made in the past. It’s fun to catch up with others and talk about all that has happened until now.
    You are doing a great job of spreading the word and helping people be aware about kidney disease. I realized that you are not only sharing about yourself, but about others with similar kidney disease too. You are helping raise awareness for all patients in need, and I think that’s really great. I bet that you will find a match soon.
    Good luck! We will always keep you in our prayers and hearts.
    (^-.-^) Here’s a sleeping cat that can keep you company while you take a nap. Hope your fatigue subsides. 🙂
    <3,
    Courtney

    Liked by 1 person

  4. thank you for sharing, doris, with us and with so many others. I have also enjoyed all the new friends I’ve made since God gifted us with peter – not only doctors/nurses/other patients, but whole worlds of people we wouldn’t have met otherwise. we continue to pray for a donor for you and strength for each day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment