Christmas 2018

fullsizeoutput_3d94.jpeg

Even with all the busyness and festivities of the season, sometimes Christmas Day itself  ends up being the most quiet of all.  We had celebrated Christmas with our extended family on Sunday so yesterday saw just the four of us enjoying a relaxing day together at home.  Our 19-year-old is back from college after his first semester at UC Merced. Our 16-year-old is still home but now that he’s driving we see less of him as well.  Having all the boys (Marty included) under one roof yesterday with no soccer, work, or meetings to run off to, this mama bear was loving every moment with her grownup cubs home this Christmas.

We opened gifts, played music/games, and cooked prime rib and lobster.  We fuss over food even when there’s no one to entertain.  At noon, we took our dogs on a trail in Knowland Park (near the upper end of the Oakland Zoo).   Eagle-eyed zoo fans might notice the animals in the background:  Two bears are wrestling!

fullsizeoutput_3d97
Enjoying a hike at Knowland Park near the upper section of the Oakland Zoo.

2018 has been a good year.  My health is great.  My diet is no longer restricted.  My visits to the nephrologist is down to only once a year with blood draws every two months.  In the meantime, what has increased is my volunteer work as a patient advocate/ advisor/ mentor with various organizations including Kaiser (Oakland), the National Kidney Foundation, and Health Services Advisory Group (HSAG).  I’m somewhat surprised and definitely grateful for the opportunities that have come my way this year.  2019 for sure holds more projects, more conferences, and more stories to tell so stay tuned.

I hope you and your family are having a wonderful holiday season.  Blessings and good wishes to you all!


P.S. Call me if you ever want to join me for a (power)walk through the zoo; I have a Dual membership so I can bring a guest anytime. 🏃🏻‍♀️🏃🏼‍♂️

One thought on “Christmas 2018

Leave a comment