A Series of Infusions

Vistide
Cidofovir (brand name Vistide) is ready for injection

Last Friday I began a series of infusions.  My blood draw from two weeks ago indicated my BK virus level was still high.  Normally when that happens my doctor decreases my immuno-suppressant medicine so my body can fight the virus.  But my dosage is already at its lowest.  Lowering it any more will pose a risk to my transplanted kidney.  So last week my doctor ordered a set of five anti-viral infusions to fight the BK virus, each administered two weeks apart.

So what is the BK virus?  It’s a common infection that most people are exposed to in childhood.  It usually does not cause problems for healthy people, and most people never show symptoms.  However, the BK virus can be serious in people with weakened immune systems.

The anti-viral medicine Cidofovir (si DOF o veer, aka Vistide) takes about an hour for it all to go into my body.   I check into the Infusion department at Kaiser and am ushered into a large room where recliners line the perimeter, each curtained off from the next.  My nurse sits me down in one of the cushy chairs and brings me pillows and a warm blanket.   I love the wonderful nurses and the great care but you know my biggest fear – the IV the nurse inserts into my arm!   So when the time comes, I share with nurse Ruby how painful it always is for me.  I watch her prepare the catheter, the syringe, my injection site; she then inserts that catheter into my vein.  Then she stops but I don’t know why.  It takes me a moment to realize she’s done.

That’s it?  But that barely hurt!  Those are usually excruciating for me!…..  I don’t know why this IV stick was different but I hope all my future ones are just as pain-free.  

Infusion1
Getting an infusion of  Cidofovir to lower my BK virus level.

So that was the first of five infusions. I spend the next hour reading as I wait for it all to go in.  If after the second infusion in two weeks my BK virus level is safe again, my doctor may discontinue the treatment.  So far I feel completely normal with no side effects or pain.  We won’t know until my next blood draw in two weeks if my BK level has decreased.

The good news even after all this:  Queen Nephrotiti continues to reign supreme.  New kidney is functioning beautifully.

3 thoughts on “A Series of Infusions

  1. So interesting, Doris Praise God!!

    On Tue, Sep 19, 2017 at 10:16 AM, Hello Kidney! wrote:

    > dorisjlew posted: ” Last Friday I began a series of infusions. My blood > draw from two weeks ago indicated my BK virus level was still high. > Normally when that happens my doctor decreases my immuno-suppressant > medicine so my body can fight the virus. But my dosage is alr” >

    Like

  2. Praying for you and sending love Doris! (Lizzy just finished a summer of daily infusions theu PICC line (8.5 weeks) and IV (5 weeks) so if you ever have to do it at home we are experts – we even learned how to mix the drugs….and now she starts college tomorrow!). Xxxooo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment