Life with CKD: My Appointments

Here’s a glimpse of what happens at my various appointments.

Each month I check in at Wellbound in Emeryville, my dialysis center.

flash drive

After my weigh-in and bp check, I hand over the flash drive from my home dialysis machine.  My nurse downloads the data from all my sessions the past month.

image
She then checks my other vital signs.

image
She reviews my medications and discusses a PD topic.  There’s always continual training for Peritoneal Dialysis so I don’t forget important information.  Each month we review a different topic (e.g.,  how to plan for an emergency in case of power outage, what to do if I have an infection, etc.).

image
Venofer is iron therapy to treat my iron deficiency anemia.

image
It’s injected slowly into my body, usually once a month.  It takes about 15-20 minutes to get it all in.  That’s a good time to get to know my nurse.

blood draw
Of course blood is drawn every month to monitor my levels of creatinine, phosphorous, potassium, iron, calcium, albumin, etc.

IMG_8190
Here nurses prepare me for the Peritoneal Equilibration Test (PET) which assesses my peritoneal membrane function to see how well my toxins and excess fluid are moving through the membrane and into the dialysis solution by osmosis.

PET
This one-time three hour test provides my doctor the information needed to customize my PD prescription…

flash drive

… which is then programmed into the flash drive that will go back into my dialysis cycler machine.

effluent bag
Every quarter I collect my “belly drain” fluid for Wellbound to measure how well toxins are being drawn out.  This is the dialysis solution that has been sitting in my peritoneal (abdominal) area for a few hours, drawing out toxins and fluid.  My dialysis prescription is adjusted accordingly.

jug
I also bring in a 24-hour urine collection to measure kidney function.  Who ever thought to make the collection jug orange-colored?  All that’s missing is a Tropicana label.  Because that jug needs to be kept cold, some patients put it in the refrigerator. 😀

image
Every six months, my nurse replaces part of my catheter.

image
I receive the last of my Hepatitis shots.

diet and dialysis
My dietician, Lori, reviews my lab results with me and adjusts my diet.  This month my potassium level was too high, so I need to avoid bananas and other high potassium foods.

Robin, my social worker, checks in on me to see how I'm coping. She answers all my questions including how the new kidney allocation system works, the wait list at UC Davis, and how to apply for PGE Medical baseline program so they know I have life supporting equipment at home.
Robin, my social worker, checks in on me to see how I’m coping.   Recently she tells me how to apply for PG&E’s Medical Baseline program.  That application informs the power company that I have life support equipment at home and gives me priority when power is restored after an outage.  She also answers any other non-medical questions I have (e.g., How does the new kidney allocation system work? What can you tell me about the wait list at U.C. Davis? etc.)

jamba
Okay, not technically an appointment, but I try to make a stop here at least twice a week.  It’s the only food I still crave.

medicare
On another day I visit the Social Security Office to apply for Medicare.  Having End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD), or kidney failure, qualifies me for this secondary insurance.

sample for UCSF
Occasionally I stop by LabCorp to collect a current blood sample to send to UCSF Transplant Center to help determine compatibility with a potential donor.

ucsf-med-center
Every month, I also visit Dr. Gluck, aka Dr. Awesome Nephrologist, at UCSF.  He checks my vital signs again and checks to see if I have cramps, nausea, dizziness, fatigue, swollen ankles and other symptoms of CKD.

He takes my lab readings from the week before and adjusts my prescriptions
He takes my lab readings from the week before and adjusts my prescriptions.

Pomelo
I take advantage of my trips to San Francisco to lunch with friends.  Pomelo is my go-to with my friend Rozane.  Helen and I love Taste of Formosa.

san tung
After the appointment I always stop by San Tung on Irving Street to pick up a double order of their famed friend chicken wings for the three boys.

SF commute
Then I trek back over to the East Bay to pick up T from school before delivering K to soccer.


Do you have any must-try foods that I should pick up after my next appointment? Please share in the comments below.

11 thoughts on “Life with CKD: My Appointments

  1. Thanks for the excellent pictorial summary of your routines. Continue to have faith and hope in the Lord. A couple of my takeout favorites are Sushi House in Alameda and Chipotle.

    Like

  2. God has gifted you with incredible strength and grace to endure. I wish you wouldn’t have to. I wish you could use that strength and grace on other more enjoyable things and with people you love. I am encouraged and blessed by all that you do.
    You know – Golden Gate “Egg Tarts”, right? Parking in Chinatown is awful though…

    Praying… Hope to see you guys soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Doris, you are amazing. I don’t know how you go through all that and still manage to take care of your family! And with such calm and grace too. I am praying for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Doris,
    Forgot to tell you about a French pastry shop in SF. A friend of mine who has a daughter in law who is a pastry chef recommended it. It’s website looks yummy.
    It’s called “b patisserie ”
    Bonnie

    Like

  5. Doris,
    All I can say is you are a strong strong woman!! I felt tired knowing you do all those things and never complaining.
    Will have to try out your go to places for lunch.
    If I don’t see you before Christmas, I pray you, Marty and boys have a Blessed Christmas celebrating the birth of our Lord Jesus Christ.

    Love,
    Bonnie

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Doris, Peritoneal dialysis has gotten so sophisticated! I have no idea how technical it has become. My experience with it is just the surgical insertion. I don’t get to see the post-op usage. Thank you for giving us a tour of the process of dialysis. You look amazing, by the way. I praise God for your witness. Victor and I continue to pray for that elusive kidney with your name on it. As for places to stop in SF, have you tried the coffee crunch cake at Sweet Stop in Japantown? They sell slices too but they go fast. You might be able to call and ask them to reserve a few slices. Ron and Loren just buy the whole cake! Love you,Alli

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Peritoneal dialysis has gotten so sophisticated! I have no idea how technical it has become. My experience with it is just the surgical insertion. I don’t get to see the post-op usage. Thank you for giving us a tour of the process of dialysis. You look amazing, by the way. I praise God for your witness. Victor and I continue to pray for that elusive kidney with your name on it.

    As for places to stop in SF, have you tried the coffee crunch cake at Sweet Stop in Japantown? They sell slices too but they go fast. You might be able to call and ask them to reserve a few slices. Ron and Loren just buy the whole cake!

    Love you,
    Alli

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment