Update from UCSF

img_6774-1
My view from the gurney as I arrive at the UCSF post transplant unit after being transported from Kaiser San Leandro. I have not been here since transplant day last year. Hi everybody!

Good morning! I have been here at UCSF for two nights now.  I am feeling good, and all symptoms are gone. I do have a lingering cough but that’s likely unrelated and has been plaguing me for a month now.

So after all those many tests, evidence for now suggests a UTI (urinary tract infection) so that is how UCSF is treating it.  They believe this because 1) UTIs are treated with antibiotics, and I am doing so much better since starting antibiotics, and 2) UCSF has ruled out other possibilities. Tests for a panel of respiratory viruses came back negative, and a CT scan plus chest x-ray from last week show nothing to indicate an infection in the lung/chest area.  Those tests were also given to check on any connection with the cough.

After all that fuss it is likely just a UTI, but it takes a transplant center to know that UTIs are very common in post transplant patients, and we often do not show the usual symptoms despite having a serious infection.

About the spots on the kidneys which appeared on the CT scan at Kaiser a few days ago, UCSF ran their own renal ultrasound and found that the spot on the transplanted kidney is no longer there.  The spot on the native kidney was also confirmed not to be a tumor. They compared their image with an old image that UCSF already had on file, and the spots on both images look the same so definitely not a cancer of any kind.

My doctor also reduced my Cellcept, one of my anti-rejection medication, because my BK virus level was still high (an issue from last month).  This decrease in dosage will also ease up on the suppression of my immune system, allowing my body to fight harder.  It’s so good to be back where someone knows my kidneys and my transplant medications.

My arms are tired from all those lab draws

The plan now is to wait for the urine culture results from Kaiser to come back (those take a few days) so UCSF knows what specific antibiotic to send home with me.  The one they are giving me now is a broad spectrum antibiotic which is administered when there is a wide range of possible illnesses, and a potentially serious illness would result if treatment is delayed.  Until UCSF identifies the specific pathogen (i.e., bacteria, virus, or other microorganism) causing my infection or disease, I need to stay here.  This current antibiotic is administered intravenously but they obviously can’t send me home with an IV.

So I stayed another night last night, and everyone is hopeful that the information will come today, and I will be discharged with a prescription of a new antibiotic.

I’ll let you know when that happens. Looks hopeful that I will be able to make the Kidney Walk this Sunday after all.  Not too late for any of you to join me or support me.

Thank you all for your well wishes.


 

warriors logo

Yay Warriors!

 

SaveSave

7 thoughts on “Update from UCSF

  1. So glad to hear the good new! Praise the Lord! Glad you will be able to make the walk Sunday! So easy!!

    Like

Leave a comment