My Podcast Interview

mudstory

As I approach my big day tomorrow, every moment is starting to feel surreal.   A few days ago, I stopped taking all my blood-thinning pills.   Last night, Marty and I had dinner with Superman and Superwife.  At 1pm today, I had my last meal before surgery – afterwards only clear liquids until midnight, then nothing. Two hours ago, at 5pm, I initiated my final dialysis session.  In a few hours, at 4:30am, Marty and I will leave for UCSF.

It feels unreal that I am finally here.  I cannot go on without first thanking all of you for your unending support and prayers.  I know I’m not the only person with a health crisis so I feel a bit embarrassed to be receiving such a tremendous outpouring of love.  Yet I am so proud to be part of an amazing community who jumps into action to care for one another – everyone from family to Facebook friends to school parents to church community.  Thank you!!!

So many detours along the way, but God used it all to shape me, my faith, my attitude, my perspective.  God’s hand was in all of it, and I have grown from this journey that’s been so full of uncertainty.   I have learned (and still am learning) that though so much is out of my control, I always have a choice in how I respond to the circumstances around me.  As I have opened up and shared about my kidney needs, God gave me a story of His providence in uncertainty.

Along the way, unbeknownst to me, Marty contacted someone he had been listening to on iTunes.  In her podcast, Mud Stories with Jacque WatkinsJacque interviews men and women about their stories of hope and inspiration in the midst of their muddiest moments in life.  She shares about faith, adversity, suffering and failure, and brings encouragement to those in the middle of a mud story, all so that you can know you are never alone in whatever you are facing.  And so, petrified yet willing, I was interviewed last week by Jacque, who turned out to be amazingly sweet, authentic, and encouraging. I felt as if she and I could chat and sip lattés all day at Starbucks.  It was easy to forget she was recording us for a podcast. (We weren’t actually at Starbucks; it just felt like it.  We connected over Skype).

So when you get the chance, listen to my episode (on iTunes or www.jacquewatkins.com), and all the other mud stories – of life when it gets messy in the mud, and how God redeems, restores and elevates us to a better place.

itunes-preview-mud-stories

 

SaveSave

6 thoughts on “My Podcast Interview

  1. Doris, this podcast is amazing, I hope many will take the opportunity to hear your story and how God has so been there for you through this whole thing. I was able to listen to it while you were in Surgery on the 12th, so amazing to be hearing you share all about this journey while you were getting your new kidney. Thank you so much for sharing your heart with us and giving God the glory in the midst of such tough circumstances. Love and prayers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lord Jesus

    I pray for Doris that her surgery will go successfully and that the kidney will not be rejected. Bless her family too as they help her in her recovery.

    God bless you Doris

    Amen

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wahoo! You go, girl! So proud of you! You have gone through quite a journey! Now you can share your story with countless others of God’s faithfulness and provision! So happy for you! We will be praying for all to go smoothly tmw, and for an amazing recovery! The Lord’s hand be upon you, your doctors, your donor and all those working together to make your recovery complete in every way!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. thank you doris for sharing the podcast with us, we will be praying for smooth surgeries tomorrow. may God guide each surgeons’ hands and give strength and healing to all the patients.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment