Life with CKD: Diet (part 2)

kidney diet

My kidney diet is a little confusing.  I can eat tangerines, but not oranges; white rice, but not brown rice (too much phosphorous); canned peaches, but not fresh nectarines (too much potassium).   Eggs, fish, meats are good choices because I need the extra protein,  but they’re also high in phosphorous which I’m supposed to avoid.

It’s not that I can’t eat these foods.  I just have to limit them.  I don’t have healthy kidneys that help me get rid of the excess minerals.  Potassium and phosphorous are necessary to maintain good health.  But too much potassium is bad for the heart; Too much phosphorous is bad for the bones.  So now my kidney doctor has to worry about my heart and my bones too.  This is why you don’t often hear of people dying from kidney disease; They die from heart disease caused by bad kidneys.  And yet the reality is that kidney disease claims more lives than prostate cancer and breast cancer combined.


So what can I eat and what can’t I eat?  For me, my dietician’s basic mantra is:

Less sodium
Less potassium
Less phosphorous
More protein

Why less sodium? Because kidney disease causes high blood pressure.  And high blood pressure worsens kidney disease.  It’s a vicious cycle so we need to be vigilant about keeping my blood pressure down.

Why more protein? Because peritoneal dialysis removes protein, so I need to consume more protein to make up for the loss.

My current food list looks something like this:

AVOID or LIMIT

Sodium
prepared foods, restaurant foods, anything with excess salt.  (Sadly salt is also hiding in bread, canned foods, ketchup, soups, cereal,…)

High-Potassium Foods
apricots, avocados, bananas, beets, brussels sprouts, greens (beet, collard, chard), nectarines, oranges, potatoes, spinach, tomatoes, vegetable juice

High Phosphorous foods
dark sodas, nuts, beans, grains, dairy, cake, pancakes, biscuits (prepared), processed foods (hot dogs, deli meats, mac n cheese, etc.), prepared frozen foods, foods with preservatives

OKAY to eat

Low Phosphorous Foods 
white bread, white rice, apples, berries, grapes, cucumbers, carrots, rice/corn cereal, crackers, green beans

Low-Potassium Foods
Apples, Berries, Carrots, Cranberries, Cucumber, Fruit cocktail, Grapes, Green beans, Mushrooms, Onions, Pineapple, Strawberries, Tangerines, Watermelon


It feels a little crazy for someone who’s eaten pretty healthy most of her life to swap out brown rice for white rice, or reject a banana to have fruit cocktail instead.  I still cheat almost everyday and sneak in a slice of avocado in my sandwich now and then.  But when my bloodwork tells me something is too high I go back to grunting my way through my diet again.   At least my kids are happy to have white rice again.

I so look forward to the day eating will be fun again.

6 thoughts on “Life with CKD: Diet (part 2)

  1. Hi Doris
    I am Nazmul from Toronto, Canada. I am in CKD Stage 3 and started taking 50mg of Prednisone 27 days ago. Once I finish 3 months, the doctor will decide how soon or fast he wants to taper off the dosage. Currently I am on a renal diet, and have been wondering if eating sashimi, not sushi, safe way to get good protein or not. I have also been having lots of bone broth. I come from North East India, where we eat lots of red meat and fish and eat rice in almost every meal, and unlike rest of India, we don’t eat much veggies, and most of our veggies are stir fried and considered side dishes. Hence I mostly eat salads with steamed or boiled fish or fish soup. A friend of mine who also has ckd have told not to eat salmon, are you familiar with such suggestions?
    I hope and pray you are doing much better.
    Naz

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Nazmul, So glad you found my blog. I’m sorry that you have CKD. At stage 3, you should continue to slow down the progression of your CKD as much as you can. You should follow whatever diet your doctor and/or dietician recommends. In general the renal diet is low in phosphorous, potassium, protein, sometimes fluid also. That’s because your kidneys will have a hard time getting rid of the excess amounts in your body. But every patient is different. Your doctor will look at your blood work to determine how much you need to limit something. Many patients have too much phosphorous so they need to limit high-phosphorous foods. Same with potassium. Others have too much fluid retention (e.g., swollen ankles) so need to limit water intake. (I never had that problem). I had to keep my sodium level very low because I had high blood pressure, which causes kidneys to worsen.

      When I wrote this blog post, I was on dialysis. The diet before and during dialysis is also different. I had to limit protein before dialysis but once I started, I needed to get much more because dialysis removes a lot of protein. I assume at stage 3 you are not on dialysis. Fish was always a good source of protein but your doctor may tell you to limit protein. As far as salmon, no one had ever told me to avoid salmon. My doctor recommended the DASH diet because I had high blood pressure. That diet includes lots of veggies and limits red meat. Bone broth is high in phosphorous I believe. Again ask your doctor/ dietician about what your particular circumstance is.

      I now can eat most everything since I got my kidney transplant. I’m doing great and the only foods I need to avoid now are anything that risky of food contamination because the medication I take now weakens my immune system. So no raw foods including sashimi, or foods that have been sitting out a long time at room temperature. But that’s a completely different diet because I now have a healthy kidney.

      I hope this was helpful. Best wishes to you. Remember to exercise and follow your doctor’s orders.

      Doris

      Like

  2. Hi Doris,

    I stumbled onto your blog as I was researching CKD diets and read through most of your posts.

    First, thanks for documenting your experience with CKD and am so glad that your kidney transplant was successful!

    Second, I myself also love sushi (sashimi more) and am rather sad to let that go from my diet. As this post points out, the renal diet is a healthy contradiction of sorts.

    I’m not sure where I fall on the CKD spectrum at the moment as I have some of the early symptoms, but I have an appointment with a nephrologist next week. I hope it isn’t too serious that I will be going through the arduous journey that you’ve been through. But, I take some solace that you made it out okay.

    If you have any tips, please feel free to reach out to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Ray! Great to meet you and so glad you found my blog! Yes, I’m so happy that I no longer have to follow the crazy renal diet. Aside from missing sushi, I love that I get to pretty much eat everything. In fact I’ve been told to add more salt back into my foods!.. Sorry to hear you may have CKD. If I may ask, how did you know you are at risk for CKD? Did you doctor tell you your creatinine was high (because doctors don’t always track that)? What is your GFR or creatinine? Feel free to PM me at dorisjlew@gmail.com. If you are in the San Francisco Bay Area, there is a National Kidney Foundation patient symposium coming up end of January. Happy to give you more info about that or my kidney journey.
      – Doris

      Like

  3. wow, what a difference between tangerines/oranges, 2 fruits that look so similar
    do you use an app to keep track or you carry the kidney diet reference book on hand?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment