Meet You There in Five Minutes

My family loves me.  I know because the jokes have already started.

As I inch my way across the kitchen floor, food bowl in hand, I ask, “Will someone open the microwave door for me, please?”

“Sure. Meet you there in five minutes.”

Meanwhile the boys on the sidelines are announcing the play by play, “Waaaaait fooooor it. Waaaaait fooooor it…”

Moving at a snail’s pace not only makes good fodder for some Lew family laughs, it has also set the tone for these last few days of resting and recuperating.  Everything is moving at a leisurely pace.  Marty took the month off to care for me.  I seem to be doing quite well, with minimal pain. For whatever reason I’m faring so much better than when I underwent surgery to put in the dialysis catheter in my abdomen a year ago.  Must be the flood of prayers all streaming up to heaven – from the Bay Area to Irvine to Visalia, Vancouver to North Carolina. Even South Africa, Japan, Singapore, France and the UK.

Jesus loves me, and I hadn’t even done anything.


Today, huge congrats goes to my nephew Ryan who walked the stage at Greek Theatre at Cal to receive his diploma.  Along with the other biology majors, I know this young man has an exciting future ahead of him.  God will guide and surprise you and take you on paths you would never dream up on your own, Ryan!

Ryan graduation

I was cheering him on from home as the rest of my family Facetimed me as best they could.  In the meantime my friend Katharine came to take over the caregiving duties.  Thanks, Katharine, for lunch and a host of snacks for the boys.  Even better, just hanging out and girl-time chatting for hours.  We’ll have to do this again.

Thanks also to Tracy for bringing us dinner for tonight.  You read my request for low sodium, and it was just perfect!  I consumed a great big bowl of the soup.  Exactly what I was craving.

Finally, I went to visit another Tracy, the local hairdresser who cuts Marty’s hair. I got my first wash since before surgery.  My mane had gotten pretty gnarly.  I feel so much better now.

Tomorrow is the my first follow up visit to UCSF.  Oh the memories it will bring back.  Surgery was just a week ago, yet feels like a lifetime.

 

4 thoughts on “Meet You There in Five Minutes

  1. 我替她取名叫「廖多好」
    反過來唸就成「好多尿」、她是泰來和凱爾的新妹妹。
    媽媽

    Like

  2. Sounds like you’re getting a lot of practice in being still and knowing that God is God :-). Glad to hear the recovery is progressing well, and maybe someone who’s tech-savvier than I am can set up Facetime for our last Bible study meeting of the school year next Thursday

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment