And the Winner is…

Screen Shot 2016-05-21 at 9.09.06 AM

…well, it’s a tie so baby kidney will have two names.   I’ll call her whatever feels right at any given moment…

“Mr. Bean”

and

“Queen Nephrotiti”

In case you didn’t get “Queen Nephrotiti,”  Nephros is the Greek word for kidney.  So my kidney doctor is my nephrologist whom I visit at the nephrology department at UCSF.


All your submissions were so creative and original. Some came with a full-on explanation which only made it tougher to pick.  Some were just plain cute, and almost all were a play on words. Obviously some of you were having too much fun because you kept coming back with more names.  I’ve listed them all at the end of this post.

“Mr. Bean” (or a variation of Bean) came from several of you.  And “Queen Nephrotiti” came from my SoCal sistah Junko (“June-ko”).  She’s not actually my sister.  But many people over the years have said we look alike and mistaken us for sisters.

If you know Junko and husband Dave, then you’re not surprised that they came up with a winning name.  They are the King and Queen of puns.  During the years Marty worked at Pixar, which entitled us to free Disneyland admission, we made many trips down South.   We always stayed with them in Irvine, CA.  Sitting in their living room you can almost see the puns flying back and forth.  They are very funny, pun-ny people.  Obviously not a gift I have.

By the way, you can see photos of Junko on her website, and tell me if you think we look alike.  She is a Christian singer-songwriter, worship leader at Saddleback Church, radio host, and speaker.  Did I miss anything?  You wear lots of hats, Junko!


And now, your names for my baby kidney.

Bubbles
Bean!
Mr. Bean
Mini Me Bean
Has Bean
Beanie Baby
Sidney the Kidney
Wurlitzer, the mighty organ
Special K
Sam (like “three” in Chinese)!
Tres
Kidney Roll (since Doris likes sushi)
I Kidney Not (I kid you not)
Let the little kidneys come to me…
我替她取名叫「廖多好」她是泰來和凱爾的新妹妹。(“Lew So Good” She is Tay & Kyle’s new baby sister)

From Kids Church (grades 1-5)
Ruby
Bob
Bean
Doris
Tay

Inspirational names
Rebirth
Phoenix
name of Superman’s wife
Kini (God’s grace)
Grace
Kidney Grace Lew
Jinzo (Japanese for kidney) – also means you are honest, benevolent, brilliant and often inventive, full of high inspirations.
恩兒 (“Your kidney needs a Chinese middle name: 恩兒 ‘Child of Grace or Little Grace/gift’ Cantonese: ‘Yun Yi’ Mandarin: ‘En Er’ “)
Love (“I wouldn’t want your birth kidneys to feel left out of the naming process, so my suggestion for your kidney trio is Faith, Hope, and Love. From a biological-functioning standpoint, the greatest of them is Love, but we know that Faith and Hope sustained you during the waiting process 🙂 “)

Celebrity names
Queen Nephrotiti
Walt Kidney
Beany the Kid
The Karate Kidney
Swee’Pea the Kidney
Hello Kidney
King Kidney
John F. Kidney
The Comeback Kidney
Cinderella (and the wicked stepsisters)
Kidneyrella
Kidney Gee
Steph Kidney
Jason Kiddney
Eartha Kittney
Nicole Kidney
Paul McKidney
Kidney Rock
Kidney Houston
Kidney Kardashian
Kidney Bristow (from Alias fans)
Kidney and the Sunshine Kidz
NKOTB – New Kidney on the Block!
You’re just what I kidney’ded (The Cars)
Third Musketeer
The Three Stooges
Three’s Company


That’s all. Let me know if I’ve missed yours, or if you want to submit another one. Leave it in the comments section below.  I’ll put it on the list.

And lastly, from my friend Andy: “On the topic of puns, Doris, I’m glad this marks the end of your kid-life crisis.”

14 thoughts on “And the Winner is…

  1. Make certain you know what is what before you determine to dabble. Be certain to also consider a appear at any bonuses that are about. Someone unfamiliar with the sport ought to attempt studying a easier edition, five-card draw.

    Like

  2. I didn’t get a chance to submit mine. You kidney needs a Chinese middle name: 恩兒 “ Child of Grace or Little Grace/gift” Cantonese: “Yun Yi” Mandarin: “En Er” =)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment