The New Normal

getting labsToday Marty took me to my local Kaiser lab to draw blood.  Thursday I will check in at UCSF for another blood draw and to meet with my post-transplant nurse practitioner.  My medications will be adjusted based on the lab results.  So far the side effects have been mild.  But tracking what I take and when is a bit overwhelming.  Here’s my medication list.

transplant meds

I’ve got alarms going off throughout the day to remind of my pills and my trips to the bathroom.   I empty even when I don’t feel like it because I have to keep my bladder small so not to put pressure on the sutures while they heal.

My immuno-suppressive meds make me very susceptible now to infections and put me at higher risk of cancer, especially skin cancer.  So now I lather on the sunscreen, wear a hat and long sleeves.  I even ordered an anti-UV umbrella on Amazon.

We also went shopping to stock up on disinfectant wipes, hand sanitizers, lip balm with SPF, and paper towels.  I’ve been instructed to keep walking which is good for my healing.  I move like a snail which is fine when you’ve got all day.  My job now pretty much is to eat, sleep, pee and get used to walking again. It’s like taking care of a baby all over again.

The kidney names are still coming in.  They’re creative and original and hilarious.  Some of you guys are having too much fun with this.  Laughing has been good for my soul, but not so much my sore abs.  I’ll have a winner by the end of the week.

Thanks again for all your blog comments, FB posts and notes that keep coming in. Wish I could hug you all but I’ve got to lay low.

images

10 thoughts on “The New Normal

  1. Dear Doris,
    I received your story and podcast from a friend at 1st Covenant, Oakland. We attended that church from 1983-89. I had my kidney transplant 6/5/15. So my one year is coming up. You can read my story on Caring Bridge under Char Reehm and Judy Groters. I was so moved by your podcast. I related to many of the “God’ questions you were asking. I had 6 failed donor attempted matches.
    My mother had the same dialysis and then the machine for 16 years. We have hereditary Alport’s Syndrome kidney disease. I was able to receive a kidney before dialysis. My brother had a transplant 18 years ago. We live in the Monterey area.
    Loved seeing a picture of Dr. Kang! He was our surgeon. You are doing all the right things. Keep up the great work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for connecting with me! I read your CB site and found it so helpful. It’s not easy to find stories of other transplant patient’s experience right after transplant so this was great…. wow. Life with out a strong immune system. I’m sorry you had so many complications. I will definitely be more diligent about staying as infection free as possible. And hoping my body will not reject my kidney. Keep updating Caringbridge!

      Like

      1. So glad you two connected. Just made me smile to see your conversation. It was a God thing that I thought about sending Char your podcast.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This “New Normal” regimen appears to be quite daunting and overwhelming, but trusting it will greatly assist in bringing you back to your “Normal Normal” in short time!

    Be patient, Doris, and be sure to stick to Dr’s orders! Will continue to remember you and Marty in pryr.

    Daryl (CIBC)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I still have my original green UCSF medication chart with the meds written in pencil so they and the dosages could be adjusted! Reading your blog now is truly a trip down memory lane. I’m also reminded of the need to set my alarm every 2 hours at night to get up to pee. Not much sleep during this time. But every day, you get stronger and the best thing of all is NO MORE DIALYSIS.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment