Racing Superman

img_1020

Meet Superman. He is just down the hall from me. We are both in pain but recovering slowly but surely. We meet up in the halls for our daily walks.  I have four more laps before I hit 12.

Do you like the jersey that I got for him?

img_1026

The past two days have been about eating, peeing, managing pain, and learning about my new set of medications. It’s a little bit complicated but absolutely crucial that I take my regimen of anti rejection pills as directed. The nurses keep testing me to make sure I am well informed.

I was worried about the side effects of these drugs.  The prednisone works as an anti-rejection and anti-inflammatory medicine but also raised my blood sugar level so I was given insulin shots in the beginning. Eeks.  I did not like those!  But the pain is manageable.  When I’m in bed and not moving I feel no pain.  The process of getting up and out of bed then navigating my way back in is the toughest, which makes bathroom trips a little annoying;  while my wound is healing I have to empty every hour during the day, and every two hours at night.  We don’t want to put pressure on the sutures at the bladder while it heals.

But all in all, my vitals are great, my lab numbers look good, and baby kidney is functioning well.  I will be discharged tomorrow morning.

8 thoughts on “Racing Superman

  1. Praising God every day for your steps of recovery! It is so wonderful His bright light continues to shine in you and through you. Love your posts! Welcome home!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So thankful for your new kidney! It so amazing the number of ‘super heroes’ in the world of medical miracles-recipients & donors. May your recovery continue on a steady path. Continued prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. thank you for keeping us posted on your journey! you look great! relieved that your “baby kidney” is doing her job and that you’ll be able to go home tomorrow! woo hoo! you are resilient–
    YOU are superwoman! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment