Eat, Drink and pee Merry

I’m back at the Kidney Walk again this year, this time with a new name for my team: Eat, Drink and pee Merry!

After years as “The Lew Crew” I decided we needed a new team name that would reflect why I walk.  It isn’t about me anymore but about what can happen when patients become healthy again.  

Besides being playful and celebratory, there’s a lot packed in that name.

Since my transplant, I love to eat again.  Nothing tastes metallic anymore, and I no longer have dietary restrictions.  Drinking plenty of water is a freedom I can enjoy again without worrying my ankles may swell up because my failed kidneys can’t remove the excess fluid.

And well pee, you know it’s hard for me not to mention that on my blog every so often.  Pre-transplant I was hardly making trips to the bathroom anymore – maybe only once a day. Failed kidneys just aren’t able to remove the toxins and excess fluid like healthy kidneys do (thus the need for dialysis).  So any kidney transplant recipient will tell you Urine a good place when you can pee!  😜

So there you have it.  A new team name and now a design to go with it.  We’ve decided we’re making a team T-shirt every year as well.  I hope next year, when we can come back together in person as a community for the Kidney Walk (fingers crossed), you’ll join Team Eat, Drink and pee Merry.  By the way, we won the “most creative team name” contest. 😄

If you’d like to donate or learn more about why I walk, please visit my Walk page.  We’re about $600 shy of our fundraising goal.  

If you’re wondering, a virtual pandemic-era Kidney Walk means I can walk anywhere, anytime with my friends.  Yesterday I gathered with a few friends to walk the shores of Alameda.  I hope to get together with more of you in the weeks ahead to take more steps.  (If you’re not yet vaccinated let me know when you do, and I’d love to meetup!)

Team Eat, Drink and pee Merry taking steps in Alameda, CA

Leave a comment