So Long, Sashimi

sushi

Mmmm.  My last sashimi meal.

Kiraku in Berkeley is our favorite Japanese tapas restaurant.  If I’m going to have one last sushi meal, it will have to be Kiraku.  For the rest of my life after transplant, I will be taking anti rejection medication which suppresses my immune system.  So no more foods risky of causing food bourne illness, which include raw foods like sushi.  But I’ve had a year to say goodbye.  I’ll miss it, but I look forward to being able to eat lots of other foods again.


Meals. Speaking of which, many of you are asking if you can help with meals while I’m recovering.  My dear friends Linda and Pat have set up a website for you to sign up to bring meals.  You can go there for more info. This will make things easier for Marty and the boys while they care for me post surgery.  Thank you, Linda & Pat, and everyone for your kindness!


UCSF. lab draw Yesterday was a long day of pre-op preparation at UCSF, with visits to the pharmacy, lab, radiology, Admissions department, and transplant center to meet with my surgeon and transplant coordinator.  Good thing I haven’t been light-headed lately, or that blood draw would’ve left me wobbly.  I love my surgeon and feel completely confident in his care.


Prayer meeting. This Thursday, May 5th, there will be a prayer meeting for my family at First Covenant Church, at 6:30pm.  All are welcome. The address is 4000 Redwood Road, Oakland.  Some prayer requests:

  1. Kidney to begin working immediately. (Fortunately my actual donor will be in the next room at UCSF for her donor surgery!  In a national kidney registry, this rarely happens so I got lucky.  A kidney often has to fly in from another part of the country.)  If kidney doesn’t “wake up” I may need to do dialysis for a bit.  (Please, no!)
  2. Surgery to go well and without drama.  It’s scheduled for 10am on May 12th, and takes about 2.5 hours.
  3. Body to tolerate anti-rejection medication well.  It’s a different prescription for everyone depending on how body reacts.  The high level of steroids in the beginning will help with inflammation but may make me a little cranky (grrr).
  4. Everyone to stay healthy.  If anyone in the ten-way chain gets sick, the entire chain falls apart, and all ten surgeries will have to be rescheduled.  The OR date has already been moved once.
  5. Marty to not stress and to get good rest while taking care of all my meals, transportation, medication, etc.  Also for my boys to be well, and remember to feed the dogs, apply sunscreen and still eat something green while I’m gone.  My hospital stay is 3-5 days.

4 thoughts on “So Long, Sashimi

  1. Dear Doris – what a tremendous blessing to have come this far, and thank you for the specific ways to pray. All my best, and prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good Morning Doris, Praying for you! May His Peace be so ever present and get you through this day as you wait for tomorrow. May He be your HOPE!

    My soul, wait in silence for God only, For my hope is from Him. 6 He only is my rock and my salvation, My stronghold; I shall not be shaken. 7 On God my salvation and my glory rest; The rock of my strength, my refuge is in God. 8 Trust in Him at all times, O people; Pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us. Selah. Psalm 62:5-8
    Love & prayers, Donna

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Doris, I think about you every day now that you are on your way to May 12th. I, too, miss sushi. Also, no swimming pools, hot tubs, grapefruit; careful attention to use of sunscreen ALWAYS when outside regardless of whether sun is out or in. These restrictions have been a very small price to pay for the joy of being reborn again. You will now have 2 birthdays – your birth date and the date of your kidney transplant. Keep letting us know your thoughts, and I will speak with you before your surgery.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment