Reporting Live from Bishop Ranch…

Screen Shot 2016-06-10 at 10.10.15 PM

Wasn’t that a nail biter!  My son told me not to make so much noise during the game, which is unusual for me because I’m not even much of a basketball fan.  But it’s hard not to watch the Warriors and go a little crazy.

Go Dubs!


Thank you for supporting my Kidney Walk Sunday.  Clear, blue skies and 80ºF weather made for the perfect backdrop for a nice mini 5k; I say “mini” because it was really more of a 2-mile stroll in San Ramon’s beautiful Bishop Ranch.  Apparently some construction prevented NKF from circling all the way around the full 5k route.  With my anti-UV umbrella in hand, and good friends to accompany us, we made it to the end.  I think we were among the last to cross the finish line but who cares!  At the end there was still a cheering section celebrating the Lew Crew, “Woo hoo!  You did it!  Way to go, Mary Poppins!”

Among my dear group of family and friends was my friend Alyssa who turned 17 this week.  Happy Birthday, Alyssa!  It’s been a privilege to watch you grow up to become such a generous, thoughtful, compassionate young lady.

Not only did she come out with her family to support me and The National Kidney Foundation, she is also supporting Kids Against Hunger as part of her birthday celebration.  By the way, her mom Pat was the one who made my front porch beautiful while I was in the hospital.

And I’m extra proud of Alyssa because for her Physiology class, she made a video about kidney disease and my journey with CKD.  If you’re new to my blog (and even if you’re not), watch her video; it’s a good summary of my kidney story the past few years. Plus you’ll learn a little bit about kidney disease.

When you’re done, give a shoutout to Alyssa and wish her a happy birthday!


p.s. For once I have no title for this blog post – writer’s block.  If you have any ideas, let me know.

3 thoughts on “Reporting Live from Bishop Ranch…

  1. Congratulations on finishing the walk! I’m truly inspired by your recovery. You help all of us count our daily blessings… in spite of tonight’s game. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Doris – I LOVE your posts….. you have so much love that you receive from our Father and you give it right back to others. Looks like you are walking (Lew Crew) and getting better each day 🙂 Happy birthday Alyssa!!!! My suggestion for the post when you have writers block is “Reporting Live from Hello Kidney….. and the date!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment