Happy Kidney-versary / Un-kidney-versary to Us!

Superman and me 2

Superman came into town over the weekend so I grabbed the chance to take this photo of us for my blog.  There’s four kidneys between the two of us:  three for me and one for Superman. 🙂  More on how he’s powering through life with his one bean in an upcoming blog post.


Two weeks ago I turned 50. Two weeks from now my kidney turns one (technically 31 since Kidney Bean was 30 when I “adopted” her.)  So, Happy kidney-versary to me! And Happy Un-kidney-versary to my Super Donor!   

Since our surgeries last May, I’ve been out sharing about my experience, giving my patient perspective, teaching others about kidneys, helping plan the National Kidney Foundation symposium in Palo Alto, CA, and nagging everyone around me to get his/her kidney function checked.  Can you tell I’m still passionate about fighting the disease and getting the word out?  It’s not just about getting YOU checked for this largely undiagnosed disease (as it was for me).  It’s also about:

  • providing support for patients and families
  • getting behind talented scientists’ research
  • advocating in government for better healthcare coverage
  • educating healthcare teams for better treatment

In early June,  I will be participating again in the NKF East Bay Kidney Walk. If you’re free, please come join us! We would love to see you!   The Walk will be held on Sunday, June 4, at San Ramon’s Bishop Ranch. 

If you’d like to help me reach my fundraising goal, please go to my Kidney Walk page.  

Hugs to you all,

Doris

 

Leave a comment