“It’s the Prednisone”

prednisone
Two of my immunosuppressive medications: Prograf (generic name: Tacrolimus) and Prednisone

I had my third followup appointment Thursday.   I told my nurse practitioner, Elizabeth, that I haven’t felt tired and didn’t feel like I needed to nap. (She said I had to rest anyway, for healing.)  Even at night, after a trip to empty my bladder, I don’t feel the need to go back to sleep.  Not tired and not sleepy.

“It’s the Prednisone.  It gives you more energy.  Probably why you’re not sleepy at night,” she informs me.

This week I told her I was also wondering if I was getting hot flashes.  Sudden surges of heat from within would surprise me at random moments throughout the day and night.  Again she said, “It’s the Prednisone and Prograf.  They can do that to you.  It’s not hot flashes.”

At these appointments, Elizabeth would also ask me to extend my arms straight out to see if my hands shake.  They don’t but I told her they do shake when I handwrite.  Getting Thank you cards sent out has taken longer than expected.

“It’s the Prednisone and Prograf.  They sometimes cause the hands to shake.”


It’s interesting that my biggest worry post surgery was that Prednisone would make me moody, insatiably hungry, bloated or swollen (aka “moon face”) and give me diabetes (known as new onset diabetes or Post Transplant Diabetes Mellitus (PTDM)).  Those are the more common side effects.  Fortunately I don’t have any of that.  I am only experiencing the hand tremors, fake hot flashes, and longer waking hours.  Nothing to complain about other than messy handwriting.  The prednisone did actually increase my sugar level too much post surgery, a hint that diabetes could be a problem.  Thankfully, it was gone within two days which meant I also no longer needed insulin shots.  I hated those.

Elizabeth always ends my followup visit with a question, “What’s your biggest complaint right now.”  I have to think hard, and my inevitable and honest reply has been, “I don’t have any.  Everything is going really well.”  That’s probably because I received an amazing kidney.  On Thursday I was Elizabeth’s last patient of the day, and her first comment to me as I sat down was, “Looking at your numbers I’d say this is the best kidney I’ve seen all day.”

I think I’ll refer to my actual (and unknown) donor “Wonder Woman”.  All I know about her is that she is a female adult in her early 30’s so this seems appropriate.  She gave me a wonder-ful Beanie Baby. 🙂


 

KidneyWalk2013Logo Update: 73% of goal which is totally awesome.
Please join us for the walk tomorrow in San Ramon!
Click here for last minute contributions.

6 thoughts on ““It’s the Prednisone”

  1. Your donor did a wonder-ful thing, but you’re the true Wonder Woman! Taking such great care of yourself has given you new beanie baby a warm and welcoming home! See you tomorrow at the walk!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well all I can say, is GOD IS SO GOOD! He is good all the time no matter what but He sure has been pouring the blessing and grace on you. Lavishing you with His care and gracious provision. I smile everytime I read your latest update. Such good news for how all of the recovery is going for you. It will be exciting to give you a hug when you can again come to church. Love and prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes absolutely! In your free time think of me too. I just found out a rash I have had for a few days is Shingles. So I too am home laying low and managing the pain. But as I said God is good in everything.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment