My New Website

Welcome to the new home for my kidney blog!  I am putting all my updates going forward here on this website.  To follow me and have all new posts emailed to you, look for the “Follow” button on the sidebar or bottom of the page.  You don’t have to register for an account; just enter your email address.  My CaringBridge website will still be there, but it will redirect you here for all future updates.  All previous posts will be included on this blog as well.

So are you all out celebrating the Warriors win?  Even my purple kidney bean logo found himself a pennant.  kidney flag 4And now for more good news….

UCSF told me last week that I have four potential donors, three of which are undergoing preliminary testing for me!   🙂 Stay tuned!


Did you hear about the kidney transplant chain that took place last weekend at UCSF and CPMC in San Francisco?  It just shows how one good samaritan donor can save many lives.  Here’s the story in case you missed it….

“A unique collaboration between UCSF Medical Center and Sutter Health’s California Pacific Medical Center (CPMC) resulted in what is believed to be one of the nation’s first nine-way kidney transplant chains occurring in one city over a 36-hour period.

“The chain started on Thursday morning (June 4), with an altruistic patient donating a kidney as a token of gratitude for his good health. It concluded with a recipient who has been on dialysis for several years.”   Read more here.

UCSF operating room for kidney transplant donor Reid Moran Haywood. Photo by Scott Maier

9 thoughts on “My New Website

  1. Hi Doris, we are continuing to pray for you and your family. I preached at The Salvation Army SOMA Corps last Sunday.

    Augie Bau

    Like

  2. Hi Doris, I’ve been checking in every now and then. Those days of playing in volleyball tournaments together seem like a couple of lifetimes ago. My eldest is off to college next fall. She was actually recruited to play vb in college but opted to go to UW. Praying for you and the fam. Blessings!

    Like

    1. Hey D, so happy to hear from you. I’ve not touched a vb in years. How nice to have someone in the family who can play with you. Best to you and your family.

      Like

Leave a comment